ISSUE Magazine

I X You by Rowena Abdul Razak

You’re 

A factor in my dreamy daytime musings
A file in the basement of my subconscious
A spot that makes my thoughts luscious
A mark that turns my something into nothings.
So much so, a hello from you leaves the world around me ecstatic
But it also leaves me somewhat slightly strange, a little eccentric.

A Roman numerical ten out of ten
A cross on my electoral ballot
A keyboard shortcut to my heart
Two Xs short of a night in.
You should be more the start of every ecstasy –
Rather than the cause of my eccentricity.

An X written in lipstick on a map that’s had me completely and willingly misled
An infinite sign that encompasses time and space
And all I want is to plant Xs on your exquisite face.
But I have to be content just signing them at the end of notes to you instead.

Rowena Abdul Razak is a contributor.

Featured Image by Dhiyanah Hassan and Muizz Adam.

This entry was written by issuemagonline and published on 14/06/2013 at 06:00. It’s filed under ISSUE13, Poetry, Rowena Abdul Razak, Writings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

