ISSUE Magazine

Interview with Rafika Ismail, Featured Photographer for ISSUE #10

Tell us a bit about yourself.
A geologist with a great passion in photography/photojournalism.

What do you intend to convey as a photographer?
I want to be the conduit between the people whose voices are muted by their circumstances and those like the most of us who are very privileged to be able to have options in almost everything we do. I want to be able to help others less fortunate by sharing their stories with the world so they would stop being invisible and I hope to be able to do just that through the photographs I capture.

 

What or who are the biggest influences to your work?
Dad. His thoughts, his wisdom, especially his fairness towards everything that surrounds him, affect what I film. His fairness has affected mine and that has influenced my work.

Do you prefer using digital or film? Why?
Ideally, film. I like the element of surprise and the excitement that builds up when processing the rolls. But nowadays, I opt for convenience. Digital is quick and allows me to be swift.

Has your work visibly evolved or changed over time? What drove these changes?
I sure do hope my work has visibly evolved! When I first started to take photos passionately, I used to capture anything I thought was ‘artistic’, which is sadly known now as Instagram. But as I grow as a person and as a photographer, I tend to just capture what matters to me and what I think should really matter.

Do you think your work conveys to the viewer a certain sense of your own character or personality?
Each photographer has his/her own style and, to a certain extent, their photographs are influenced by what strikes their chord. The messages/stories I wish to convey through my photographs are definitely a reflection of myself.

Share with us a film, book or piece of art you recently came across that you loved.
The one book I read time and time again is The Little Prince. Yes, it is a children’s book but it is, for me, simplicity at its best. “One sees clearly only with the heart. What is essential is invisible to the eye.” And that’s my take in photography.
Image by Rafika Ismail for ISSUE Magazine.
This entry was written by issuemagonline and published on 14/03/2013 at 11:27. It’s filed under Al Zaquan, Featured Photographer, Interview, ISSUE10, Photos, Visual and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

