ISSUE Magazine
Potted by Dhiyanah H

Potted by Dhiyanah Hassan

No, it’s okay. I’ll stay.

It’s fine, I’m here.

*

Image
Dhiyanah Hassan doesn’t know how to behave, so she draws. 

Sometimes, she’ll dance. If wiggling in one spot like a spastic leaf could be considered dancing.

This entry was written by Dhiyanah H and published on 04/10/2012 at 19:57. It’s filed under Artwork, Comics, Dhiyanah Hassan, ISSUE5, Visual and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

6 thoughts on “Potted by Dhiyanah Hassan

  1. I usually don’t know what to say that would do any justice to your work, Dhi, but I feel compelled to say that this piece of work is just so…accurate. It depicts everything about commitment that I love and fear completely – the settling, the growing of roots, the near impossibility of leaving and the time it takes away. It’s such a sacrifice, such an investment, and you’re never sure if it’s worth it enough to pay off or if it’s a mistake, or if the decision can even be quantified that way.

    Beautiful.

    • Thank you so much for your comment, Syaz! I’m honestly surprised by the positive feedback on this – I wasn’t sure of it by the time it was finalised, which contrasted with how determined and confident I was with the piece when it was first starting to take shape.

      Weirdly enough, I think that mirrors how I feel about commitment: making the promises always feels so sure, purposeful even noble, but as time passes the struggles in keeping the commitments, and keeping up with the commitments… well, it’s a struggle!

      I’m glad this piece works! Your comment was spot on with what I was trying to convey through these panels, and I’m so happy that you like it 😀

  2. Avie on said:

    Dhiyanah, thanks for sharing us your art. I love all ISSUE contributions, but in particular, I always look forward to seeing your new pieces. They’re raw, stirring and most importantly, honest. As a rule, I find people are most interesting when they’re honest. Best wishes with all the fine work that you are doing.

    • Hi Avie! Thank you so much for your kind and encouraging words!

      Honesty is definitely key for me, too. It took a while to get there, to a place where I can just spill things out as candidly as possible and let them grow in my works. If it’s not believable to me, I can’t use it.

      I’m so happy you like the things I put up! Thanks again for sharing your feedback, it does mean a lot to me 😀

  3. Simply beautiful.

Leave a Reply

