ISSUE Magazine

My compelling cause by Sulyn Ooi

So we all don’t go down in glory
We don’t all get our lives in stories
But I’ll coax my spark until it becomes a fire.

Purpose: the reason for which something exists or is done, made, used.

I started writing this song a long while back and have revisited it many times over the years.

Music- more specifically singing and songwriting, has always been my reason to breathe.

For a very long time I denied this of myself, only dabbling in it sporadically when there was spare time.

Fear was always present: fear of not writing a good song, fear of not finishing it, and most precedent of all, fear of failure.

It took a year after “Spark” was recorded before I took the reins and decided to fight for it.

I accepted that songs move me and is the medium in music I am most passionate about.

I finally understood that “the dream” isn’t going to be delivered on a silver platter, so here I am, awake from slumber, chasing after it. This is my compelling cause.

Please check out where I am performing next on http://facebook.com/sulynooimusic

 

This entry was written by issuemagonline and published on 04/09/2012 at 15:44. It’s filed under Audio, ISSUE4, Musings, Songs and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “My compelling cause by Sulyn Ooi

  1. Sulyn sweetie, love the song. Glad you sparked 🙂

  2. Pingback: Sunday Postscripts: The Issue is… « writersclubkl

Leave a Reply

